Distance Learning – First successful session

After a number of false starts Colin Charlton completed his first successful session with the students.

007

Using technology in rural India has its problems. First of all you can’t rely on the electrical supply. Soon HEAL will generate its own electricity from solar panels on the roof and that will be a problem of the past.

Surges in electrical supply play havoc with the kit. The server was taken out by one such spike. We have now had work done to protect against that.

We planned to use the Apple product FaceTime but when we connected the iPad to the projector we found that it only connected briefly before dropping the connection. After googling I found that this was a known problem. Apple had put a ‘fix’ in their latest version of the operating system to stop non Apple cables working with iPad. (Apple aren’t you making enough money from iPad, iPhone, iPod and Mac sales. What if the projector people insisted on only using their cables with the projector!).

So while I’m waiting for an Apple cable to arrive we have turned to Skype. I don’t think the quality of the pictures is as good as FaceTime but at least it works.

So today we started their Science syllabus. We are following the CBSE syllabus. I have found lots of teaching resources on the Internet and I am writing lessons around these. I am sending the students some directed learning and then I’m following this up with question and answer sessions over the net.

I should get my first work back tomorrow.

I am planning once a month to take the kids on a virtual trip. As soon as I get the Apple cable and we can use FaceTime I will take them shopping around Macclesfield town centre (M&S and Pound Land). Next up will be a trip to the British Museum to see the Rosetta Stone.

Today my grandson helped me with the lesson!

011

Leave a Reply

